A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Stawell Gift Final
Today at 3:24 pm by vicarofdibley

» Berwick Gift
Today at 11:26 am by Downesy

» Maximum heat entry for long heats
Yesterday at 12:51 pm by BMara

» Bendigo Madison 2019
Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:13 pm by mwebster

» Berwick Results
Sun Mar 24, 2019 2:52 pm by JH

» Maximum heat entrants for long sprints
Sun Mar 24, 2019 12:26 pm by Mex

» Stawell Accommadation
Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:22 pm by smokey

» Berwick Gift
Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:04 pm by OldandSlow

» Boxing Day test 1997
Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:45 am by Jacob D

March 2019

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

PROTRACK » GENERAL » 65th Macksville Gift runs into history

65th Macksville Gift runs into history

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 65th Macksville Gift runs into history on Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:31 pm



65th Active Macksville Gift runs into history

By Christian Knight
Macleay Argus
4th November 2018

Past Macksville Gift champion Jack Newman and twin brother Tom will be back on Saturday to try and create fresh history (photo courtesy Maitland Mercury)

SIR EDMUND Hillary conquered Everest, Joseph Stalin died, the Korean War ended, Queen Elizabeth II’s reign began, and Marilyn Monroe was on the cover of the first Playboy Magazine.

It was 1953 – and the year the Macksville Gift was born.

On Saturday, the longest continuously running professional foot race in NSW, will go around again, for the 65th time.

Gift president Owen Rushton said the milestone event – sponsored by Active – would be celebrated with a reunion dinner at Macksville Ex-Services Club on Friday, as a forerunner to the carnival the following day.

“Just this year we had the news that we were voted the best carnival by athletes across Australia. So we gazumped Stawell (Gift), Queanbeyan, Sydney … we did the lot,” Owen said.

This year’s event will be the same, but different.

The festivities will kick-off with a street parade through the heart of town at 11.30am, with the procession winding its way from Wallace St to Macksville Park.

Then the racing will get underway – with a variety of events for seasoned professional runners through to aspiring amateurs.

A new event will be a 4x100m relay open to teams from other sports – and the Macksville Falcons touch football crew will be one of the favourites.

Owen said the race track proper was in perfect nick.

“It could not be better compared to a couple of years back,” he said.

One of the highlights of the Gift will be the fireworks display – both before and after the headline final.

The carnival has a tradition of giving back to the community – “and we’re talking hundreds of thousands of dollars over the years to everything from the Catholic church at Nambucca Heads, through to the pool and hospital at Macksville,” Owen said.

“This was all on the back of a few gentlemen and stalwart families who had the vision to start this event.”

The Gift, with $5000 in prizemoney, will again attract some of the nation’s fastest athletes.

These include Patrick Hanna, brother of last year’s winner, Michael, Gary Finegan (3rd 2018 Stawell Gift), Mitchell Pateman (2nd last year), Liam Gander (two-time Macksville Gift winner), Tim Eschebach (Stawell Gift finalist in 2015), and brothers Tom and Jack Newman (Queanbeyan and Macksville Gift winners respectively in 2014).

Entry to the Gift is free and the community is encouraged to head along for a great day out.

2 Re: 65th Macksville Gift runs into history on Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:33 pm



3 Re: 65th Macksville Gift runs into history on Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:04 pm


Macksville Results - local runner Jarno Dolezal wins gift

Gift results- time 12.59
Ist Jarno Dolezal 12.5m
2nd Fejiro Omuvwie 5.75m
3rd Luke Ekford 10m

70m time 7.67
Leonard King 6.5m
Davina Strauss 14.75m
Jarno Dolezal 7.5m

Novice Final time 13.5
Ist jack Mitchell 7m
2nd Mitchell Christiansen 18m
3rd Carson Hudson 9m

Women’s Masters time 14.13
1st Annika Swift 15m
2nd Michael Eschebach 19m
3rd Vic Sharma 8m

1st Patrick Hanna 45m
2nd Robert Suapopo 40m
3rd Davina Strauss 51m

U/18m final
1st Angus Holloway 15m
2nd Charlotte Kearney 30m
3rd Carson Hudson 11m

U12 final
1st Tegan Evans 12.5m
2nd Fiona Holloway 15m
3rd Kobi Evans 9.5m

Sponsored content

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum