Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum devoted to track events from 60m to the 2 mile. Mainly pro but also news from local, national and international sprint & middle distance competitions.

Log in

I forgot my password


Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» No Maryborough in 2021
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptyFri Aug 28, 2020 1:40 pm by Guest

» Incident at Bendigo with POD
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptyTue Apr 28, 2020 7:13 pm by Guest

» When will Stawell 2020 be held?
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptySun Apr 12, 2020 5:18 pm by Guest

» Central Park Stawell under water
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptySat Apr 04, 2020 7:21 pm by Guest

» 80’s Stawell Footage
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptySat Apr 04, 2020 2:35 pm by Guest

» Stawell Gift postponement
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptyThu Mar 19, 2020 5:02 pm by Guest

» Geelong gift cancelled
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptyTue Mar 17, 2020 7:02 pm by Guest

» Death Notice Peter Cross
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptyMon Mar 16, 2020 11:09 am by Youngy

» Geelong Gift
Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP) EmptyThu Mar 12, 2020 8:53 pm by Guest

July 2024

Calendar Calendar

You are not connected. Please login or register

Burnie Gift Winners, Mark, Time & Trainer (WIP)

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]



Burnie Gift
Winner, Handicap, Time & Trainer.

Work In Progress

YearDistanceWinner's NameResidenceH'capTimeTRAINER
2020120mAbdoulie AsimNSW3.5012.69John Quinn
2019120mAsh MoloneyQLD2.5013.16Eric Brown
2018120mDaniel ReevesTAS10.5012.65Self Trained
2017120mJorden EnglundTAS10.0012.85John McLaren
2016120mJohn HoweTAS5.2512.63Ray Quarrell
2015120mSimon FitzpatrickVIC9.5012.78Adrian Mott
2014120mAdam CooteVIC9.5012.78Mark Hipworth
2013120mJacob DespardTAS8.0012.70Ray Quarrell
2012120mBrendan ColeACT6.0012.13Matt Beckenham
2011120mRobbie JamesSA5.5012.96Paul Young
2010120mOllie WurmVIC8.0012.50Vasily Grishenkov
2009120mClay WatkinsSA5.2512.58Paul Young
2008120mDuncan TippinsSA5.2512.38Paul Young
2007120mJoshua RossNSWScr12.04Emil Rizk
2006120mCameron YorkeWA9.0013.12Matt Barber
2005120mLuke WhitneyTAS9.2512.66Ray Quarrell
2004120mJoshua RossNSWScr12.80Tony Fairweather
2003120mCarnival abandoned - due to rainN/AN/AN/AN/A
2002120mDarren RogersWA7.0012.73Matt Barber
2001120mCraig BrownVIC6.0012.27Jim Bradley
2000120mMatt StevensonTAS8.7512.77Les Nankervis
1999120mSimon BresnehanTAS3.7512.13Ray Quarrell
1998120mShaun TuraleTAS8.7512.38Gary Wescombe
1997120mPaul PearceVIC3.7512.46Barry McLeod
1996120mDavid DownieTAS8..7511.91Wayne Denny
1995120mPaul SlupeckiVIC8.0012.63Evan Armstrong
1994120mShane HearnWA5.5012.35Matt Barber
1993120mSimon BresnehanTAS5.7512.13Ray Quarrell
1992120mTodd IrelandVIC4.0011.74Gary Barker
1991120mDean CapobiancoWAScr.11.90Matt Barber
1990120mRobert KirsoppVIC4.0012.33Jim Bradley
1989120mJohn RiggsTAS7.7511.80Ted Eagling
1988120mAnthony GrimaVIC9.0012.60Evan Armstrong
1987120mFrank CorselloVIC6.7511.96Evan Armstrong
1986120mMark HipworthVIC6.7512.86Neil King/Evan Armstrong
1985120mWayne JohncockTAS8.7511.8Ted Eagling
1984120mGary WescombeTAS9.2512.28Jack Propsting
1983120mLee BerwickTAS8.2511.7Max Berwick
1982120mMichael GearyTAS7.5012.3Ted Eagling
1981120mNeil KingVIC6.7512.0Graham Goldsworthy
1980120mGary FrenchTAS6.2512.07Ted Eagling
1979120mIan HaggerVIC9.2512.8Ferg Speakman
1978120mGary WescombeTAS9.5012.1John McLaren
1977120mSteven RoachTAS10.7512.4Alan Clayton
1976120mKevin PortchNSW6.2511.7Gerard Thompson
1975120mGerard ThompsonTAS8.2511.8Self Trained
1974120mJohn MowatVIC7.7512.5Ferg Speakman
1973120mMax SeymourTAS10.2512.3
1972130ydsRalph HeffernanTAS10½ yds12.2Reg Austin
1971130ydsBarry PoulterNSW9½ yds12.0Bryan Gulliver
1970130ydsKerry BadcockTAS10½ yds12.0Ross Bowles
1969130ydsPeter BowlesTAS9 yds12.0Ross Bowles
1968130ydsPhillip LincolnTAS8 yds12.3Mick Saltmarsh
1967130ydsRoger CharltonTAS9¾ yds12.1
1966130ydsKerry WhiteheadTAS10¼ yds12.3Lance Woods/John McLaren
1965130ydsBasil BurleyTAS8 yds12.3Barry Guy
1964130ydsIan ProbertTAS4¼ yds12.9Pat Probert
1963130ydsIan ProbertTAS8¾ yds12.3Pat Probert
1962130ydsBruce DobsonTAS10½ yds12.0Max Hodgetts
1961130ydsIan W BattTAS9½ yds12.4Mick Saltmarsh

Last edited by Admin on Wed May 27, 2020 9:40 am; edited 11 times in total



Here are some Burnie Gift trainers names that were missing in Admins post

Year Distance Winner's Name Residence H'cap Time TRAINER

1989 120m Jon Riggs TAS 7.75 11.8 Ted Eagling

1977 120m Steven Roach TAS 10.75 12.4 Alan Clayton
1970 130yds Keith Badcock TAS 10½ yds 12 Ross Bowles
1969 130yds Peter Bowles TAS 9 yds 12 Ross Bowles
1968 130yds Phillip Lincoln TAS 8 yds 12.3 Mick Saltmarsh
1967 130yds Roger Charlton TAS 9¾ yds 12.1
1966 130yds Kerry Whitehead TAS 10¼ yds 12.3 Lance Woods/John Mclaren
1965 130yds Basil Burley TAS 8 yds 12.3 Barry Guy
1964 130yds Ian Probert TAS 4¼ yds 12.9 Pat Probert
1963 130yds Ian Probert TAS 8¾ yds 12.3 Pat Probert
1962 130yds Bruce Dobson TAS 10½ yds 12 Max Hodgetts
1961 130yds Ian W Batt TAS 9½ yds 12.4 Mick Saltmarsh



Thanks "Tasmanian" the additional information is much appreciated.
I've updated the list.



Daniel Reeves won the 2018 Burnie Gift after running 2nd in 2017. He becomes the first self trained winner for quite a while!



A great effort to win such a prestigious gift such as Burnie by being self trained demonstrates such self belief.
Also the fact that Daniel has such distance range, previously winning the 800m at Stawell and two 400m Devonport Gifts.

Sponsored content

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum